House Structural Question

Old 04-22-12, 05:43 PM
W
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
House Structural Question

My house is about 100 years old. It has a basement, and three floors above it. The foundations is made of large concrete blocks, and the main beam in the center of the basement is made of wood. There are five wooden columns supporting the main beam.

On the second floor of the house, there is a noticeable sag in the middle of the house, at one end. The other end of the house is pretty level. The first floor is also pretty level, certainly not as bad as the second floor.

I included some pictures of the main beam and the pillars supporting it in the basement. In the first picture, the beam and pillar appear to be in good condition. This pillar is directly under the part of the house that does not have a sag in the floor.

The remaining pictures are in order, from the one good beam, to the far side of the house. I'm not experienced with structural issues, but I have some concerns about the integrity of these pillars and the beam. As you can see, several of the pillars are cracked from the basement floor to the beam, and the beam itself has some pretty large cracks. Some of these cracks are large enough to put a finger into.

My questions:

1. Is the sag on the second floor likely caused by the condition of the pillars and beam?

2. Are the beam and pillars viable? Or are they in such bad condition that they need to be replaced?

3. I can live with the sag in the floor, and from what I've read, jacking the house to the degree that it is no longer sagging could very possibly damage walls, pipes, etc. So, what can I do to strengthen these pillars and the beam, so that the problem doesn't get any worse? There is a lally column right in the middle that was added before I purchased the home.

4. Do I need to contact a professional?

Thanks very much in advance.

Last edited by WarnLot; 04-22-12 at 06:13 PM.
Old 04-23-12, 12:41 AM