Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Roof construction for a shed….Please explain

OH

02-27-13, 02:56 PM   #1  
Roof construction for a shed….Please explain

​I am currently planning to build a shed this summer and have run into a bit of confusion when it comes to the roof. I have a decent knowledge base when it comes to construction, framing, etc but I have never done a roof before.

After some research I have found that a typical roof should consist of one of these two designs. 1. A ridge board supported by posts going either to the floor or the supporting walls. All rafters would then be running off the ridge board. 2. Rafters connected to each other with collar ties and rafter ties. Another option would be to use Trusses, which from all the ones I have found seem to have some sort of horizontal support that forms a triangle.

My confusion came up when I started looking at shed designs. I went to a few places around town and they all seem to use the same design. I also found similar designs on the internet. From what I have seen none of these designs incorporate rafter or collar ties. They all have an open design to provide more head room. So what keeps the roof from collapsing or pushing out the walls?

I have attached a pic of what I am talking about. Here are a few links also:
How to build a shed roof, Shed roof construction, Shed roof design.
Weaver Barns - Standard Features

Thanks in advance,

Matt

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Forum Topic Moderator

TN

02-27-13, 03:03 PM   #2  
Welcome to the forums!

Personally I'd install collar ties.... even with a ridge board. They probably figure they can get away without it because the roof is small. The carpenters should be along shortly with better advice for you

retired painter/contractor avid DIYer

Group Moderator

NE

02-27-13, 05:01 PM   #3