Over Jacked Floor Joists???

Old 08-20-13, 06:00 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Over Jacked Floor Joists???

I purchased a real fixer upper a little over a year ago. Built in 1905, two story, 1750 square feet. We had to do some jacking of floor joists and while we were in the crawl space (had a professional assist in this) we noticed that this has been done before. Floor joists running through the middle of the floor have been over extended (if that is the right terminology?). The middle of the room is extended 2 inches higher than they should be (which is about 3 1/2 inches higher than the jacking we are doing to the fix a rotten sil and foundation on a corner of the house. What is the solution for this? We have had 3 different solutions given to us by 3 different companies. I have no experience in this, but feel as if no solution is the right one. The first "idea" was to lower the jacks under those joists and allow them to "settle" again. If this is correct, what kind of time frame before I can refinish and replace as necessary the hardwood floors? The raising has been going on since the day we signed the contract and we are almost where we should be. The second idea was to remove the subflooring and put in new floor joists (called it sistering which I understand), but then they want to "remove" or saw off the two inches from the top of the original joists. I am not so comfortable with cutting portions of the joists holding up my house. Is this even a reasonable thought. He really sounded like it was something he was familiar with, but I am not so confident. The last idea was to fudge the subfloor, raising the subfloor to level using wedges and whatever else necessary to raise the outer edges of the subfloor to the same height as that middle floor joist. I realize that I am not an expert, nor have I probably explained correctly but we have this problem running through the living room and dining room and I feel like I live in a funhouse with the ups