interior wall fridge recess idea

Old 08-22-13, 12:35 PM
interior wall fridge recess idea

I posted a prior question about my idea for recessing a fridge. Our plans have changed and I wanted to see what folks thought of my plan. Please note that this is my first time using google sketchup to draw my plans so not everything is exact. I also understand that local codes may vary, so I just want ideas on;

if this makes sense,
if its a good idea
or if there is a better way to do it.

The pictures below will show a partition wall, non load bearing that will extend from a current non-load bearing wall and house cabinets and a fridge. "Attached" to this wall is a second wall with a "door section" where the fridge will recess against the main partition wall and then the cabinets will attach to the built out section.

Screen shot one shows the back side of the wall \/

Name:  Screen Shot 2013-08-22 at 12.19.57 PM.jpg
Views: 3082
Size:  40.7 KB

top view of cabinet and fridge space \/

Name:  Screen Shot 2013-08-22 at 12.22.08 PM.jpg
Views: 7450
Size:  41.0 KB

Connection of partition walls to existing wall using advanced framing methods \/

Name:  Screen Shot 2013-08-22 at 12.21.33 PM.jpg
Views: 3540
Size:  37.2 KB

front view of cabinet/fridge location and "doorway" for fridge \/

Name:  Screen Shot 2013-08-22 at 12.21.08 PM.jpg
Views: 8288
Size:  50.8 KB

If this seems like a good plan, should I connect the walls together at the studs, sole and top plates or leave them as two independent walls?

Sponsored Links
Old 08-22-13, 04:58 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Why does it need to be recessed?
If I had to build something like that I would use 2 X 8 for studs and top and bottom plates for most of it not rows of 2 X 4's.

Old 08-22-13, 06:05 PM