Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Framing, Flooring and Sub-Flooring
Reload this Page >

Garage Remodel and need help with setting up the flooring.

Garage Remodel and need help with setting up the flooring.

Old 11-07-13, 08:00 PM
Question Garage Remodel and need help with setting up the flooring.

I am in the planning stages of a garage to living space conversion. In talking with the city I find that I must install a framed subfloor onto the concrete slabs in order to insulate to their required value. The problem is, I have never done floors before

So here is my setup: The garage is from the 1940's, detached, 20' x 16' and the floor is poured in two slabs with about 1/4" Vertical separation from age. 1/2 of the building is framed on a 6 x 6 wood base, the other half is on 6" mason blocks (I don't know why, i wasn't there :P )

As best as I can figure what I am looking at is:
  • Sealing the concrete and wood with expanding foam in the cracks / separations.
  • 6 mil barrier on the concrete (where do I tack this? the wood or the Concrete or both)
  • Frame in PT 2 x 6's around the edge attaching them as necessary to either the mason blocks or the wooden base as applicable, all leveled.
  • Then I was planning on building 4 separate 2 x 6 frames approx 8' x 10' (the actual size will be measured after the first frame is installed)
  • Those 4 frames will be installed and shimmed to level.
  • Then install spray in insulation to the needed r-value.
  • Then lay the plywood (or whatever wood to make the subfloor)

Am I completely off in this? Any help appreciated. I can have pictures of the space tomorrow after we clean out the rest of the junk.

Thanks in advance for your help!!!

Sponsored Links
Old 11-08-13, 03:10 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation