2x6 over a 14' span

Old 12-08-13, 06:58 PM
K
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
2x6 over a 14' span

Working on a cottage that has 2x6 floor joists 24" OC supporting the second floor. The center of the house has a room that spans feet. The center of the room sags about 3/4".

I sistered 4 of the joists with lvl beams ripped down to match the 2x6's. It may have helped the deflection bit it didn't do anything for the sag.

Should I go through and add 2x6's between the lvls' s? The open bay is about 20". It would out the floor at about 10" OC.

Would it make a difference?
Is a lvl ripped to 2x6 (5 1/2) offer more support and less deflection than a 2x6?

Old 12-11-13, 10:17 PM
P
Building Codes provide a Guideline. You want to go above their guidelines.

Name:  Maximum Spans.jpg
Views: 107295
Size:  46.1 KB

I am no Engineer but the Building codes for a 2x6 would not support a 14 Foot Span with No column support. Unless you have a Bearing Wall assiting the support.

Using TOP CHOICE Wood..a 2x6 would support a 12' 6" Span on 12" Center..But your normal Home Depot wood would only support 11' 6" with 12" on center. IF you have it 20" OC then the chart shows only a 9' span. and thats the Max. Should never be at the Max of a chart. reference the codes for the minimum link is below.

If you can get it above minimum then you will do better in the deflection. Sistering beams gives you extra strength such as support a tub. but if the span is too great it will still bounce and could eventually sag. LVL is pretty solid but you have to use the right size.

Chapter 5 - Floors

These codes are for NY in a Sleeping Room. But Most codes are similar . You may be able to find your own online.

Scroll down to
TABLE R502.3.1(1)FLOOR JOIST SPANS FOR COMMON LUMBER SPECIES (Residential sleeping areas, live load = 30 psf, L/∆ = 360)a

Old 12-15-13, 03:18 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Adding joists didn't help the sag because you didn't jack it up first.

Old 12-15-13, 04:11 PM