Frame lower ceiling

Old 03-16-14, 08:00 PM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Frame lower ceiling

I am remodeling my basement and have 9' walls down there (of course the rest of the house is 8'...lol).

Given some mechanicals and other considerations, I'd like to drop part of the room it to 8' -- one side of the center support beam.

Any thoughts on the best way to do this? The area is 12.5' x 18'. One way would be to make a ledger with joist hangers, but that would require running 18' since the center beam is at the smaller dimension (nothing to hang a joist hanger there). I think that is too far.

I have also seen the metal systems that you can attach drywall to. But I was hoping to make another soffit around the lower ceiling. And I have no experience with any of them (or any idea where to even get one).

Old 03-16-14, 09:52 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Most people use a hung ceiling with the 4x2 panels. Why do you want to install a permanent ceiling, considering that you may need access, to pipes & other things?

Old 03-17-14, 05:10 AM
C
Yes, we have considered a drop ceiling, but we are definitely going the finished ceiling route. Creating access panels will be easy. All shut offs are located in areas that will be unfinished.

Another way I thought of last night would be to make mini "walls": 2x4 top and bottom plates with 9" "studs". Attach these parallel to the existing joists. Could that work? Would I need "lookouts" like I do on a soffit?

Old 03-17-14, 06:08 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Just for info...why not keep the 9' ceilings? You can box around the beam, making it a non- focal point. No additional framing. That is unless you have pipes, etc hanging down below joists.

Old 03-17-14, 08:38 AM
C
Chandler -- We could just box and make a soffit. However, we got a designer to lay out the basement, and we really like the look he created.