Rotted Header and Temporary Support

Old 04-28-14, 09:27 PM
Rotted Header and Temporary Support

Hello, this is my first post here, I have found so much helpful information here that I figured I might be able to get some feedback with my situation and maybe in the future I could offer someone else help even though I am new to home DIY. I recently discovered I have a rotted header above my patio door. When we bought our house some of the siding above this window on the second story was replaced and the belly board between the two sheets right above this door. Shortly after the exterior trim above this door warped and was replaced, the caulk was totally shot allowing water to sit on top of the door frame.

So now I have ordered a set of french doors and am thinking about what I will need to do to replace the rotten header, trimmer and king stud. I will have help from someone more experienced but I want to do my best to have everything figured out as soon as possible. This is in a two story house, the floor joists above are perpendicular to this wall and the roof is parallel, the foundation is a concrete slab. I have pulled off some of the drywall and found that the top plate above the 4x12 header has a bow, it seems like the header wasn't framed tightly to the top plate and overtime it sagged until it contacted the header. At the edges near the king studs there is a 1/8-1/4" gap and no gap at the center.

My first question is should I try and jack the header up with a screw or bottle jack and take out some of the sag? I talked to a few people about this and one person told me he never had much luck trying to remove the sag like this one. Also if I need to I will replace the trimmer that isn't rotted, right side in the pictures, because it wasn't framed tightly to the header (it was shimmed and still had a gap).