disintegrated cement where floor meets the wall

Old 08-14-14, 10:16 PM
H
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question disintegrated cement where floor meets the wall

Good evening everyone. I am very new to DIY and this forum. I am trying to install laminate flooring in the living room of my townhouse. After removing the carpet and baseboard, I noticed that there are some disintegrated cement (not sure whether it's concrete or cement) along the line where the floor meets the wall.
Some observations:
1. The townhouse has no basement.
2. The floor is cement (or concrete)
3. The wall is an exterior wall separating the backyard and the living room.
4. I tried to push the material under the dis-integrated cement. It feels soft and feels like some kind of foam.
5. There are a couple layers of plastic and foam-like material under the wall as well.

Is the disintegrated cement something to be concerned about? Should I fix it somehow?

Thanks for your advice!
Name:  wallMeetsFloor.jpg
Views: 505
Size:  24.4 KB

Old 08-15-14, 05:33 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,153 Upvotes on 1,928 Posts
I looks like a skim of concrete on top of the expansion joint material. I'd vacuum up any loose bits and lay the flooring.

Also, don't forget to remove the 1/4 round molding before laying your flooring. Then when you put the 1/4 round back up it will cover your flooring's expansion gap around the perimeter.

Old 08-15-14, 05:00 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Scrape away any loose material, looks like some expandable foam over spray. You can skim coat it with a floor patch material. Speed Finish is a product that Big Orange stores carry. Mix a small batch and drag it into the voids and smooth it out. Work fast as it is quick curing concrete.
Custom Building Products SpeedFinish 10 lb. Patching and Finishing Compound-SF10 at The Home Depot

Old 08-17-14, 11:21 AM
H
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks czizzi and Pilot Dane.