Putting 2 holes in band joist for sump and radon

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-13-14, 09:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 305
Putting 2 holes in band joist for sump and radon

Hello all,

I have 2x8 band joists. The floor joists are 2x8 and 16" center. There is already a 4.5" hole for a dryer vent in the band joist near a corner of my home. I need to create some holes in the band joist in between floors joists in the adjacent joists to where the dryer vent is (not in the same joist bay). I am planning to install 1.5" pvc pipe for a sump pump to drain outside of my home and planning to hire someone to install a radon mitigation system (which I expect would require 3" or 4" pipe). I need to drill a 2" or so hole for the sump pipe and then later the radon people need to do a 3.5"/4.5" hole for the radon pipe. These pipes need to be located in between the same two joists due to some obstructions. Is it acceptable to have a 2" hole and 4.5" hole in the band joist in between the same floor joist bay? Thanks.

Attachment 38230
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-13-14, 10:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 662
You should be fine.Just wondering why the newer sister joist did not extend a bit more or is it a scab?
 
  #3  
Old 09-13-14, 10:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 305
Thanks. It was installed to reduce joist deflection for a granite tile installation above it (middle 2/3 or more length of the original joist).
 
  #4  
Old 09-13-14, 10:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 662
o.k. thought it might be a nailer or something.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes