replace rotted section of bottom plate?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-15, 12:01 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,761
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
replace rotted section of bottom plate?

Some water has been coming into the shed and rotted a part of the bottom plate and stud.
What is the best way to cut this out and replace it?
Do I need to support the weight above somehow? It is not very heavy, it is a side shed with roof, which sits on studs, which sits on concrete.
 
  #2  
Old 10-13-15, 12:32 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,845
Received 361 Votes on 318 Posts
Sawsall usually works best for cutting it prior to removal. Do the rafters rest on this wall or is it a gable end? pics would probably shed more light on what needs to be done.
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-15, 12:39 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,761
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Will try and find a pic later...the rafters rest on it, but the rafters are only about 6ft long for the shed with maybe about 8 of them in total. It's a one way (one side) slanted roof.
Studs are maybe 3 or 4ft long with another 3 ft concrete wall below that.
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-15, 12:45 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,845
Received 361 Votes on 318 Posts
Since it is a load bearing wall you'll need to support it while you remove/replace the rot. Often sheds don't require as much temporary support like you'd need in your house.
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-15, 12:55 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,761
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
So, just put a stud in right next to it of the same length?
 
  #6  
Old 10-13-15, 01:08 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,845
Received 361 Votes on 318 Posts
How much of the bottom plate needs to be cut out and replaced?
 
  #7  
Old 10-13-15, 02:07 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,761
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Maybe a 5" section, maybe a bit more for good measure.
 
  #8  
Old 10-13-15, 03:02 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,845
Received 361 Votes on 318 Posts
So you'll probably need to support 4 rafters. You'll want lumber to span under the rafters although if there isn't much load you can get by with just 2-3 legs.
 
  #9  
Old 10-14-15, 07:12 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,761
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Can't I just put up a sister stud right next to it and then cut out everything?
Then re-insert a small section of bottom plate?
 
  #10  
Old 10-14-15, 08:24 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,845
Received 361 Votes on 318 Posts
What would support the sistered stud in the meantime? The new stud provides no support to the roof until it's supported by the sole plate.
 
  #11  
Old 10-14-15, 08:40 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,761
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
But I can move the sister stud 6 inches to the left so it supports for a while, put in the new section of bottom plate, and then move the stud to the right after?
Or something like, put the stud in just for support, cut everything out, put in new bottom plate, put in a smaller section of sister stud with bolts, then remove the temporary stud?
If I have to remove the bottom plate then I'll always have to have it unsupported for a bit? Will it matter if just one stud is removed as they are 16 inches apart, the other studs can take the weight?
 
  #12  
Old 10-14-15, 08:43 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,845
Received 361 Votes on 318 Posts
It should be ok to just remove one stud without additional support.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: