Joining 2x4's at an angle

Old 01-20-16, 06:05 PM
E
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Joining 2x4's at an angle

Hey, I'm hoping to get some help with a project I'm working on. I'm building a frame for a built-in bed and bookshelf for my son. I've never done a project like this before. I've got the basics of framing at regular 90 degree angles down, but I wanted to add some angles at the top to make it more interesting. Here's the basic outline of what it will look like (nothing in this picture is attached to anything, it's just for me to get an idea of what it will look like).

Name:  Framing.jpg
Views: 1857
Size:  32.7 KB

Problem is, I don't know how to join those three pieces of wood together the "right way." I know I can just put some screws haphazardly through one and into the other, but is there a proper way to get this done?

Name:  Framing1.jpg
Views: 2169
Size:  22.0 KB

Old 01-20-16, 06:11 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Invest in a biscuit joiner and Titebond II glue. A few clamps would help, too.

Old 01-20-16, 06:20 PM
C
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Another option would be a pocket screw jig. Basic ones are very inexpensive and it would work well for what you are trying to do. Kreg is the most popular brand.

Old 01-20-16, 06:42 PM
F
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
The low-tech (i.e. cheap) method that would have been used forty years ago would have been glue and "wiggle nails" also know as corrugated fasteners. Do a Google search for wiggle nails.

Old 01-20-16, 07:39 PM
C
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Only problem is, lumber has gotten so crappy those corrugated fasteners often just split it.

Old 01-20-16, 07:45 PM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Ah but Joel how many dang boards did you split with corrugated fasteners? I hate them. The better old timer way was dowels and a doweling jig.