Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Ceiling Joist was cut for HVAC


dmateer25's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 26
PA

01-30-16, 04:35 AM   #1  
Ceiling Joist was cut for HVAC

I bought my house a little over 3 years ago, but just noticed something the other day that is really concerning to me. The house was originally electric heating with no ducts. At some point, one of the previous owners had a forced air HVAC put in. It looks like they cut one of the joists completely just past where the beam was supporting the joist. Here is a picture of what I am referencing.

Name:  IMG_1508.jpg
Views: 410
Size:  38.8 KB


From the picture, you will notice the joist is cut just past the red beam.

It's probably cut for approximately 2 feet or so to accommodate the duct work. On the other side of the cut, they nailed a 2x10 to the cut joist and ran it over to the top plate on the masonry wall. Here are a couple pictures to give you a better idea of that.

Name:  IMG_1511.jpg
Views: 359
Size:  28.6 KB

Name:  IMG_1512.jpg
Views: 592
Size:  34.4 KB

This is not providing any real support at all for the cut joist. I am really concerned about this and am wondering what I can do to get this structurally sound. Do I need to add some support to the joist going down to the floor? Should I have a structural engineer come take a look to make sure that I don't already have damage from this? I'm not sure when the HVAC was first put in, but I'm sure it's been like this for 15 to 20 years.

Thanks for any advice.

 
Sponsored Links
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation

Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 39,968
GA

01-30-16, 04:49 AM   #2  
The bridge they installed is correct and transfers the weight of the cut joist to that adjoining one, but they should have done it on both sides of the cut one, and allowed it to cross over the end of the cut joist, attaching to both adjacent ones and fastened securely. I have a concern about that cable. Does it go under the bridge? If so, it needs help.

Name:  joist.jpg
Views: 237
Size:  6.3 KB

 
dmateer25's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 26
PA

01-30-16, 05:19 AM   #3  
Thanks, Chandler for the info.

Are you referring to the cable in the 2nd image or one of the cables in the 3rd image?

 
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation

Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 39,968
GA

01-30-16, 08:23 AM   #4  
Second image. It appears to be pinched at the end of that perlin.

 
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,547
NC

01-30-16, 08:26 AM   #5  
Looks like the second image. Cable looks pinched in there.

 
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32,354
TX

01-30-16, 09:06 AM   #6  
Name:  IMG_1511.jpg
Views: 193
Size:  30.4 KB .


I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.

 
czizzi's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,968
VA

01-30-16, 12:14 PM   #7  
Look at the third picture, the cable passes through the joist and emerges on the otherside. I don't think it is pinched at all.

 
dmateer25's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 26
PA

01-31-16, 05:08 AM   #8  
It's not pinched. It goes through a drilled hole in the joist.

Name:  IMG_1514.jpg
Views: 272
Size:  27.9 KB

 
Search this Thread