Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Framing, Flooring and Sub-Flooring
Reload this Page >

Will 1/4" plywood overlay add any real stability to subfloor?

Old 02-21-16, 08:37 AM
E
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

My house was built in 1985 and they used 5/8" "waferboard" as the subfloor. My understanding is that waferboard was the forerunner to OSB. Many wood floor manufacturers don't mention waferboard in their installation requirements and cite 3/4" OSB or plywood minimums.

If I add a 1/4" plywood, glued and screwed to the top of 5/8" "waferboard" will that add to the strength of the waferboard?

Thanks

Old 02-21-16, 08:43 AM
Received 287 Votes on 257 Posts
I'm no expert in this type of thing. But I want to know the correct answer to this also. However, in my opinion I don't think 1/4 plywood is going to give you much strength or support. I suspect the experts here will tell you either remove existing floor and use 3/4 ply or add 1/2 to 3/4 to existing floor. Lets see what they say.

Old 02-21-16, 08:44 AM
T
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
What's the problem you're trying to remedy?

Old 02-21-16, 08:45 AM
J
Received 83 Votes on 78 Posts
It's not going to add any strength.
And screws and glue should not be used when installing under layment!

Old 02-21-16, 09:16 AM
Group Moderator
Received 776 Votes on 716 Posts
I second joe's opinion.

and need more words.

Old 02-21-16, 11:29 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
"waferboard" is a viable predecessor to OSB. Particle board is a failure for which the inventor should have been sent off to a remote island. Do you have any pictures of the subfloor so we can see which one you have? Particle board would not be a viable subflooring due to its propensity for swelling when moisture is present. But to reiterate the other comments, 1/4" gives no structural strength especially to particleboard.

Old 02-21-16, 12:20 PM
Received 14 Votes on 12 Posts