Basement framing and 1st floor floor joists


  #1  
Old 04-13-16, 07:40 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 237
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Basement framing and 1st floor floor joists

Do the studs in the basement framing need to line up with the floor joists above for code? There is fireblocking above the basement framed wall separating this from the bays above.
 
  #2  
Old 04-13-16, 08:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,136
Received 3,996 Upvotes on 3,586 Posts
No.

Usually you have a top plate that connects the wall studs to the floor joists.
 
  #3  
Old 04-13-16, 08:14 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,127
Received 1,924 Upvotes on 1,728 Posts
No, its an interior non-load bearing wall. Only needs one top plate, not two.
 
  #4  
Old 04-14-16, 07:08 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,179
Received 173 Upvotes on 141 Posts
Do they have to? No. But unless there is a reason not to, I usually line them up so the wall studs are directly underneath the joists. I find it makes it a little cleaner running wiring and plumbing that usually runs over in the joist bay and then down into the stud cavity. Especially true if running HVAC ductwork. It's a small thing, I admit, but like I said...if there's no reason to put them elsewhere, then I line them up.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: