Vinyl Tiling

Old 07-15-16, 12:41 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Vinyl Tiling

Hey again everyone. I hope this is the right place.

I'm currently in the process of re-doing a subfloor in a little mud room and will be puttng groutable vinyl peel and stick ontop afterwards.

My main concern is that the room is very wonky. There is about an inch difference in the legth and width of the room. (ex. 72" x 87" x 73" x 88")

My main concern is - I want to make sure this does not change the look of the tile once placed. Would you suggest that we start from one of the doors (two doors, each on shorter wall) or start from the center of the room.

I hope you understand what I am trying to day, thank you! I am a huge DIY newbie and appreciate any help.

Old 07-15-16, 01:20 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,910 Upvotes on 1,716 Posts
Tapers are always more obvious on a thin narrow piece, so adjust your layout and do whatever it takes to avoid skinny pieces along any walls where they would be most noticable.

You should also determine where "square" is. Imagine that you are laying a perfect square centered in the room that is 60x60, where the diagonals of that square are equal... which means the corners will be 90°. (Because that's what your tile layout will be similar to...) That square can either be set straight with one wall, or it can be rotated slightly one way or another to try and split the difference in how crooked it makes the walls around it look. You may find that one of your corners is perfectly square and the other 3 corners are off. Or you may find that the room is skewed, with no corner being perfectly square.