Fixing a prefabricated floating wood floor

Old 07-30-16, 07:03 PM
Fixing a prefabricated floating wood floor

Hi, this is my first time posting. I had a question regarding how I might potentially fix a wood floor in one of the rooms in a house I recently purchased.

Here’s the lowdown. The house as a whole has a hodge podge of different wood floorings laid in different rooms, some hardwood and some prefabricated, likely installed at different times throughout the the lifetime of the house. In one of the rooms there is what appears to be a fairly new prefabricated wood floor with 3/8” thick, 5” wide click-n-lock boards. I know it’s 3/8” because I removed a sideboard along a wall and checked. It’s a floating floor, which I confirmed by removing the last board laid in one of the corners. There’s plywood underneath the floor and a concrete slab beneath that (the room is part of a two-room addition from the 1980s).

The problem is, while in one half of the room the floor is solid, in the other half, the floor has a lot of give in certain places. I guess spongy would be a decent way to describe it. My guess is that if I pulled up the floor on that side of the room I would discover some fairly inventive, yet ineffective effort to level the floor on top of the plywood. (I was told the floor was once slate, which was later replaced with the current prefab wood). If I walk on the floor in bare feet, the spongy spots are quite discernable, but even with shoes on, now that I know they are there, I notice them.

I guess my overarching question is, what can I do to make the entirety of the floor feel as solid as it feels on the one side of the room, short of pulling up the whole floor and starting over? Can the boards be pinned or nailed down at this point in an attempt to eliminate the give in the boards? Or would I just be turning a small annoyance into something even more annoying?