Squeaky first floor - unfinished basement

Old 09-15-16, 11:44 AM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Squeaky first floor - unfinished basement

Hi - I'm a newbie and very "non" handy - disclaimer

I have a home that's about 3 years old. The builder was great.. we do however notice squeaky floors (more so on the second floor). It's a 2 story home plus a basement. I don't think much can be done on the second floor (carpeted with sub-floor) but correct me if wrong there. That's question number 1.

My basement on the other hand is currently unfinished. So for question number 2... We are about to start finishing the basement in the next couple weeks. I was wondering if BEFORE we finish and close off the basement ceiling, can I help mitigate current squeaks on the first floor (main floor of our house) by adding glue between the floor joists and the subfloor in the open unfinished ceiling of the basement?

I can't tell if this is a naive idea or would adversely affect the contractor who's about to finish the basement, but I can't imagine anything hurtful would come of it. The squeaks/creaks aren't that bad - really only a few spots, but I figure this could help in the long run as the home's only 3 years old and I'd imagine there'll be more settling and squeaks moving forward as I live in the Midwest. Question 3 - is that the sign of a poor builder or is this pretty normal to have some squeaky spots in the house like that (not that i could do anything about the builder now but I'm curious)?

If construction glue on the joists/subfloor is a decent idea, any suggestions for a product to use? I just saw a commercial for Gorilla Construction Glue??

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Sponsored Links
Old 09-15-16, 11:59 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
Generally these are best addressed from above and there is a screw system at home centers for it - the screw breaks off at the subfloor level so nothing is left sticking up.

I'll see if I can find a link.