painted cane on dining chairs

Old 11-21-02, 11:01 PM
evelyna
Visiting Guest
painted cane on dining chairs

Hi George (and anyone else who cares to reply)

I just bought a used dining room set with chairs that have a cane insert in the backrest. The cane was painted or stained at some point, and is now flaking off on the front side only. I'm planning to use a chemical paint remover to remove the flaking paint (unless you have another suggestion) and would like to know what you recommend to re-color the cane. I have never done anything like this before so any advice is appreciated. I would like to remove the paint only on the front side of the cane, since the backside looks great.

thanks for your help!
Evelyn

Old 11-22-02, 03:42 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Stripping cane

Stripping cane tends not to be recommended.
Stripping tends to take the life out of cane. Stripper is very drying and the cane will weaken considerably. Most restoration experts recommend replacing the cane. Painting cane with latex paint tends to result in flaking and chipping. Oil paint is more flexible and tends to produce better results over the long term. Many use staining gels to color caning.

Old 11-22-02, 03:42 PM
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Stay away from chemicl strippers - they will undoubtedly leach through the caning and destroy the backside finish as well.

A rag dampened (not wringing wet) with lacquer thinner combined with a brass bristle brush will probably remove most of the color remaining on the front.

Your best chance of getting the color back is going to be with either acylic paints (artist) or artist oil paints. After that, you can use an aerosol lacquer ( I like Deft)to seal the color in.

Old 11-24-02, 06:43 PM
L
is the cane inserted with a spline?
if so, maybe you might want to learn how to replace the cane.
it is not that difficult.
and you will need to replace it thru the years.
small investment in tools to do the job