walk me through a solid oak table refinish

Old 05-06-04, 10:17 PM
jmight
Visiting Guest
walk me through a solid oak table refinish

Hello all,

I recently inherited mother's kitchen table, solid oak with golden finish and have noticed it isn't what it used to be. Upon pulling out the leaf, we noticed the table itself it slightly damaged. It is riddled with numerous, uniform, raised cracks from what I would call 15 years of everyday wear and tear.

I would like to know how I go about sanding, smoothing, restaining a different color and resealing this piece. I am a true newbie to this business, but I have great patience and a perfectionist mindframe. I am clueless as to what tools for sanding and applying product, as well as specific product types to use and their popular associated brands. About all I'm confident in is my sanding WITH the grain knowledge.

Why don't we start with this and I'll post more questions as the responses pour in. I have great faith in you all and thank you!

Old 05-07-04, 04:41 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Open the table and look closely at the surface where the edges come together. If the top surface is very thin (less than 1/32") you may have veneer going bad and you want to be real careful trying to sand it down. If it's too thin, you'll go right thru it.

If you have a digital camera that can take a closeup, email me a picture at [URL=http://Dave_D@sbcglobal.net[/URL] and I'll give you my opinion.

Old 05-07-04, 10:47 PM
jmight
Visiting Guest
i dont have a digital camera....how else can i tell if its vaneer? im also positive its not though.

Old 05-08-04, 05:51 AM
Ok, look at the edge of the leaf or the inside edges of the top (with it opened up). If you see any horizontal lines, you have a veneer. If you see multiple lines, the top is probably made of plywood and the top layer (veneer) is oak. The rest is other wood.