Still not dry...

Old 07-12-04, 10:10 AM
karina501
Visiting Guest
Still not dry...

I have stripped my kitchen cabinets using a gel-like stripper I purchased from Home Depot. After following the instructions, I then applied the stain. It has been 48+ hrs and they are still sticky. What's wrong?

Old 07-12-04, 10:35 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
what kind of stain did you use (liquid stain, stain with poly built in, gel stain, etc...) & how did you apply it (foam brush, paint brush, cloth, etc...)?

i'm not a pro in this area, but i'm sure they'll need to know the details in order to help you.

Old 07-12-04, 12:57 PM
karina501
Visiting Guest
Unhappy

I used a Minwax indoor red mahogany stain and a foam brush applicator. The stripping agent came in a metal can, was slightly pinkish in color and very thick. It said it was specifically for paints and wood stains. I applied that with a regular paint brush, used a plastic scrapper to remove it after about 30 minutes and then wiped them down with a clean, damp cloth. After applying the stain, I let is soak for about 15 mins and then wiped off. I did leave a somewhat thick layer but I would expect after 48+ hours even that would be dry by now.

Old 07-12-04, 01:07 PM
I did leave a somewhat thick layer but I would expect after 48+ hours even that would be dry by now.

again, i'm no pro, but:
unless the stain has a polyurethane additive, i don't think you're supposed to leave a layer at all. stain is just that - stain. it goes INTO the wood & stains it. it's not meant to be left puddled on top of the surface. i would wipe all of it off the surface & just leave the stained effect. then seal it with a poly, which is meant to be a topical sealer.

also, you might not have gotten all the stripper residue off. wiping with a "damp cloth" isn't the usual way to do it. i think you need to use terpentine or paint thinner or something. did the stripper say to use water?

Old 07-12-04, 05:09 PM
karina501
Visiting Guest