help help

Old 09-17-05, 12:53 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Angry help help

Ok, When I'm done staining, why is the stain bleeding in some parts? Tiny little pin head size bubbles appear. It's driving me crazy! is this why i have to use steel wool once it dries? Thankz.

Old 09-18-05, 07:45 PM
C
One applies stain, lets it sit the appropriate time, then wipes off the excess. Generally, this is just a few minutes.

How are you doing it?

Old 09-19-05, 08:31 AM
M
Thanks,

Well, it's too late and it dried. Luckily they are only 3 small doors and it's not too bad though I think I'm going to have to redo them. Also the colors on the doors turned out different shades of walnut/red mahogony. What can cause difference in stain color? Sorry I'm really really new at this. I'm fixing to do the big doors in a little while. How can I get a glass feel on my cabinets? I have the minwax stain with no poly. What I did with the others is I applied the stain with a brush and just let them sit there. Maybe it was because my garage is so hot--it's Texas what can I say. Anyway little bubles starting appearing in certain areas though not too bad. When do I lightly sand again-when I finish putting the poly gloss at the end and when I do won't it ruin the finish and gloss if I sand lightly?

Old 09-19-05, 08:47 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 875 Upvotes on 766 Posts
Most stains need to be wiped off shortly after application. This allows some stain to penatrate with all excess removed. You may be able to sand some off the excess off, if not try removing it with a thinner soaked rag. If you can't get it acceptable looking you will need to strip and start over. Generally to get a nice slick even shine you need to apply 3 coats of poly. Sand after each coat [except final], clean off the dust before appling next coat.