Refinishing wood wall panels...the moldings?

Old 01-31-06, 06:57 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Refinishing wood wall panels...the moldings?

Hi,
I'm in my second year now of stripping and sanding my nighthall walls and staircase. The walls have had 100 years of paint. I sanded all the flat surfaces nicely but the molded joinings between panels are killing me. The oldest coats of paint are so deep that I'm stuck with fine with lines of white paint. Removal of the panels would mean destroying the second floor and attic staircase as the panels go through the floors tied into the flooring beams. I would like to simply darken the white to a beige to hide the faults in the stripping job before I stain and varnish the panels. I'm not looking to create a "first class luxery steamer" look, just a neat and warm appearence on the wood instead of twenty coats of paint as existed before...the moldings were literally even with the panels they were so paint filled.

Can someone offer a solution to help me finish this project in a reasonable amount of time?

My latest thought was to place thin strips of molded trim over the recessed moldings allowing the joinings to be raised instead in recessed but cost is an issue with a baby on the way. If someone can offer a solution to keep from needing that solution, I'm ready to try anything.

Thank you,
Merci,
Mark

Old 01-31-06, 12:29 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Without having the benifit of being there to look at it, would it be feasable to first use a light stain and then coat with a tinted poly?

Old 01-31-06, 02:05 PM
M
Yes, thanks. I thought about a straight stain to richen and darken everything and then using a satin , slightly darker tinted polyester finish. I just have no idea what the result will be with. I do not want to blacken the wood while trying to blend the paint. Could I carefully first stain the portions with paint and try and make it appear as a strange grain effect?