What wood is this?

Old 06-12-06, 06:04 PM
jillofalltrades
Visiting Guest
What wood is this?

I am stripping the paint off the stair treads in my 50 something year old house. The treads are not oak, and they don't appear to be pine either. The wood is a dark red color, and the grain appears to be very fine lines, very close together. I don't recall ever seeing wood like it before.. (Not that I'm a wood expert, but I can recognize oak, pine, maple, and some of the more commonly seen species.)

Does anyone have any guess what wood might have been used for stair treads in WI in the 40's - 50's? The house is a small 1 1/2 story cape cod - nothing fancy...

I was reading about heart pine and I think it could be that.

Any input would be appreciated, although it really doesn't matter in the big scheme of things. I'm still going to strip the paint and finish with a clear coat of poly.. no matter what it is..

Old 06-12-06, 06:25 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sounds very much like heart pine ($$$$ don't ever get rid of it). It could possibly be fir but doubtful. Be prepared for a sanding mess, it can gum up sandpaper quickly. Use a good random oribit sander and start out with a really coarse grit like 60 or 80 (you may use a finish stripper prior to sanding to make it easier). Work your way up to 150 or 180 and then do a final sanding by wrapping some paper of the same grit you used on the power sander around a kitchen sponge. Sand in the direction of the grain.

Apply poly as per instructions.

Old 06-12-06, 10:40 PM
jillofalltrades
Visiting Guest
Thanks for your reply mako.. Would you believe that I actually considered tearing out the treads and replacing them with CHEAP pine from HD..? I was thinking of using my reciprocating saw and cutting them right down the center and tearing them out.. while they were still covered in LAYERS of old paint.. after I tore the carpet off and removed 2 million staples.. but the thought of all that labor made my arms hurt..