Antiquing/Distressing Kitchen Cabinets

Old 09-06-06, 12:59 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Antiquing/Distressing Kitchen Cabinets

I need help with information on distressing/Antiqing my oak kitchen cabinets. They are currently a honey colored oak in good condition. I am redecorating with a theme of cowboy/rustic/country style. I have never worked on kitchen cabinets before. I don't know what technique to use or how to reach this look I am striving for. Please help with ideas and techniques.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-13-06, 09:24 PM
There are multiple posts on this topic--but the basics. Clean well (I recommend mineral spirits, but others use TSP, amonia, or other cleaning products). Sand the finish to give it tooth. For oak, you probably want to hide the grain. You can use a sandable sealer, with multiple coats to do this, or fill the grain using wood filler. Sand, sand, sand. Prime (if you didn't use the sealer). Distress. Next, figure out your technique. Do you want it roughed up (worm holes, dings, etc? If so, batter the doors with a key ring on coat hanger, hammer away, use your imagination. I recommend Aqua bond, as its a primer sealer in one, and is excellent as a base coat for distressing/glazing, is latex but very durable. The aqua glaze also is excellent with a long open time. I don't know what finish you are looking for (a strie, a wash, crackle) so can't give you too much advice there. Last, topcoat. Many people recommend an oil based topcoat, but oil-based poly's yellow (I learned this the hard way on my first kitchen re-do). Again, aqua products has a great top coat, which has held up to my monsters grimy hands and spoon banging for almost two years, but virtually any waterbourne poly will work. If you have specific techniques or styles in mind, if your more specific maybe someone can help.

Old 10-02-10, 04:46 PM
Antiquing wood