Solution for sticky kitchen lacquer

Old 02-04-07, 09:11 AM
A
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Solution for sticky kitchen lacquer

I've got a 12 year old oak kitchen with a clear lacquer finish over a medium stain. The cabinets are in good condition with one exception. Some of the doors closest to the range top are sticky around the handles. It's my understanding? this is a common issue with lacquer and comes from body oils interacting with the lacquer.

I'm trying to correct this without a complete refinish. Is there anything I can do to stabilize, clean, correct, or otherwise deal with the problem without stripping and refinisning the effected areas?

I have some wood finishing experience and have never observed a really good spot stripping treatment on clear finishes so I'm concerned about going down this path.

Help anyone...

Thanks... Alan

Old 02-05-07, 04:27 AM
B
this is NOT common with a good lacquer. A catalyzed lacquer is more durable and chemical resistant then a varnish or a poly.

Old 02-05-07, 09:08 AM
C
Grease, grit, and grime will create this problem of stickiness. A good cleaning with mineral spirits and clean cloths should remove all the problematic accumulation. Wipe the surface with clean cloths dampened with mineral spirits until the cloths come away clean. Let this dry. Mineral spirits will dry without leaving any residue or damaging the finish or lack thereof. Once this is complete you will be able to evaluate the condition of the finish.

Hope this helps.

Old 02-07-07, 05:09 PM
A
Originally Posted by chfite View Post