level of difficulty for beginner?

Old 04-08-07, 01:25 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
level of difficulty for beginner?

How difficult is it to strip the paint off a wood round pedestal table, 45" diameter? I have never done it before but it does not sound too difficult? I have painted walls before and fixed holes and sanded, but never used a chemical stripper. I will do the project alone and have ample time. I'd hate to start the project and realize it's way too much for me and ruin the table. Please let me know.

Old 04-09-07, 02:53 AM
Mia,
Stripping a table like the one you described can be very easy if there are no fancy moldings or applicas. And, a biggie, if the paint was put on raw wood?
The process involves using a semi-paste remover and a little patience.

Apply the remover using a bristle brush (a cheap one!). Wait about ten minutes and apply another coat of remover over the top of the first. I know the manufacturer says to scrap off the first coat but, they want you to use as much product as possible!! Continue to apply the remover, one coat every ten minutes until you see that the paint has been dissolved down to the wood.

Now, using a putty knife, gently scrape off the remover and paint. Apply more remover to stubborn areas. Using a fiber pad and denatured alcohol, scrub the remaining residue off the surface and wipe this off with an old towel. If need be, go over the surface again to make sure it's clean. There might be so paint remaining in the corners or crevices. Using a knife or dental tools, pick off the remaining paint and proceed with sanding and finishing.

CD

Old 04-09-07, 10:25 AM
M
when do I use mineral spirits? if ever?

Old 04-09-07, 10:52 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 868 Upvotes on 759 Posts