kitchen cabinet refinish

Old 09-10-07, 08:41 AM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question kitchen cabinet refinish

My cabinets are showing signs of wear and tear and I want to redo them. They are stained a golden oak, and I would like to have them more of a red oak. A friend told me that it wasn't necessary to sand them all down and re stain them as some of the polyurethanes came with stain already in it. She said all I would have to do is wipe them down real good to get any grease and grim off and then just re-poly them with the polyurethane that had the red oak stain in it and I should get the color I want. I don't want to make a mess, so would appreciate any help on this that I can get. Has anyone tried anything like this, and if so how did it work? It sounds like it would work, but I have had so many DIY disasters in the past I'm a little gunshy when it comes to something I have never done before.

Old 09-10-07, 09:35 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Your friend is almost right - you should also sand the cabinets lightly with 220 grit sandpaper to promote good adhesion

Minwax polyshades is the most readily availble tinted poly. Tinted polys do a good job of changing the tone/color of finished woodwork. They work best when you are trying to darken the finish. They can be problematic to apply. Because it is a tinted clear coating heavy areas [runs,lap marks,etc] will have more color, thin areas will be lighter. It isn't a product than can be touched up very well. It must be applied evenly!