Building entertainment console

Old 07-20-08, 09:52 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Building entertainment console

This is pretty much the look i'm going for:

http://www.boconcept.us/default.aspx...8&ImageID=1042

It's pretty much just a box with 3 doors. Dimensions I want are 96x18x20. I was thinking about just using 3/4" MDF. I'm kind of new at this, so I have two main concerns. First, I'm trying to figure out how the front should open. There will be 3 doors on the front (I don't really want drawers), so I was thinking of just using hinges and have them fold out from the top down. Second, how should I approach the joinery in general? Most of the furniture I've bought in the past that needed assembly had dowel and cam locks which doesn't really seem practical. I want it to look very clean so I don't want screws or nails visible on the outside.

My general plan is a 96x18 piece for top and bottom, 17x19 for the two sides and also for the two dividers going inside, and two 32x18 pieces for the back. One of my other concerns is air/heat since there's electronics inside, so I was going to cover the left and right thirds on the back and leave the center open, and then cut a square in the two dividers inside the box to get some air in there.

I've never done this before and this is the general idea. Hopefully some veterans out there can help me out and point out some mistakes before I make them. I'll post some pictures once I get going.

Old 08-10-08, 08:31 AM
R
entertainment center

The picture didn't post. But I think I get the general idea.

Do you have a table saw and a small nail gun? maybe even a router? How are you going to finish the piece?

To hide your seams you are going to have to cut joints (like an L) in the top and bottom piece. Then use the nail gun to attach the sides. Next put a back on the cabinet to give to structure. Then nail in your vertical dividers and shelves.