Best budget HVLP gun?

Old 02-23-09, 12:23 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Best budget HVLP gun?

I am in the market for a budget cost HVLP gravity feed spray gun to use with my compressor. I am not a professional and will be using this gun for projects such as spraying a wood fence and finishing furniture. I am tired of using a paint brush for painting my projects, such as beds, cribs, and other small projects that have a lot of corners and nooks. I always end up with brush marks too. My compressor specs are 30 gal tank, 2HP motor, cast iron pump, 5.5 SCFM output at 90 psi. I am not interested in an airless sprayer, just something to go with my compressor. I would also like some recommendations on spray painting furniture. I hear from everyone that you shouldn't spray latex with a HVLP gun. So if this is the case, what do I use with a HVLP gun to paint furniture? Also, if possible, I wouldn't mind trying to spray polyurethanes.

I have a few guns I have been looking at, but am open to suggestions. Here are the guns I have considered:

Porter Cable PSH 1- probably at the top of my budget, but looks like a good one. I would prefer something cheaper though.

Grizzly HVLP- they have a bunch of models, one is at $29 and has replacement tips of various opening sizes. I am leaning towards this one. I read one review that said these guns work great, but that was for auto paint.

Harbor Freight- I have heard good things about certain HF models but I am not sure if tips are available

Husky- Home Depot has a gun at $60, made by CH I think, but I don't think they have replacement tips.

Please keep in mind that I am not a professional and am not willing to invest a lot of money to try my hand at spray painting. Any experience or recommendations is greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Old 02-23-09, 04:19 PM
Group Moderator
Received 259 Upvotes on 210 Posts