Have I made a mess???

Old 09-09-09, 07:39 PM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Have I made a mess???

Oh boy...where to start. I'm a complete novice but I tackled refinishing a dresser top. I sanded the finish down, restained the top with minwax stain and allowed it to dry for 48 hours. I then used the minwax spray polyurethane (satin) because I thought I would get a better result. Unfortunately, it didn't turn out that way. I put on a first coat and let it dry for 90 mins and then recoated a second time (The directions say to recoat within 2 hours.) The first coat actually looked ok. But when I put the second coat on it, it got a bit rough, almost like an aerosole film, and a bit cloudy. A day later, it doesn't look any better. Did I do something wrong? Might I have a better result if after a few more days of drying I lightly sand the top and use the brush on finish? I'm desperate fo help....so thanks in advance for your advice!

Old 09-09-09, 08:07 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,943 Upvotes on 1,745 Posts
When you applied the stain, did you wipe off the excess? Minwax instructions say, "be sure to wipe off excess stain with a clean cloth." Newbies often use stain as if it were paint and don't wipe it, which can create some problems with the finish.

Assuming you DID wipe it... is the finish dry? or is it still tacky? If it's tacky you probably put the first coat of finish on way too thick and coated it too soon.

But assuming it is dry... I would guess that you just need to sand between coats with 180 or 220 grit sandpaper, and apply a good coat of polyurethane with a china bristle brush. Those spray cans don't always give you a good finish on a large area. So I'd suggest you try light sanding, then brushing on another coat. Nothing should be ruined yet.