Campbell Housfeld 5 gun kit

Old 03-27-11, 12:19 PM
S
SBI
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Campbell Housfeld 5 gun kit

I want to finish my basement with partition walls and I am looking for a framing gun. I am not a professional hence I will not use it on a daily basis, so I don't want to spend $300-500 on a brand name. Went to Lowes last night and saw this kit for $229. It looks pretty decent, pretty good deal for the money. Anyone have any experience with these guns and can advise whether it's a great deal or a piece of junk?

Not sure why the picture won't show. Sorry.

Shop Campbell Hausfeld Framing Air Tool Kit at Lowes.com

Last edited by the_tow_guy; 03-28-11 at 04:05 AM. Reason: Tried to fix the image link; no luck.
Old 03-27-11, 06:06 PM
F
Received 38 Upvotes on 30 Posts
Unfortunately the server seems to be down so I don't know what is included in the kit. I bought a rebuilt Porter-Cable FR-350A framing nailer for about $150 if I remember correctly. You might be able to find something at Harbor Freight that would be acceptable.

Don't forget that some nailers use "clipped head" nails and some building inspectors might not accept these fasteners. It shouldn't be that important on non-load bearing walls but... That is one reason why I got a nailer that uses full-head nails.

Old 03-28-11, 03:51 AM
S
SBI
It includes:
21 (deg) magnesium round head framing nailer (on the side it says 21-22 (deg) 2"-3.5" nails).
2.5" 16 gauge finish nailer
2" 2-in-1 brad nailer/stapler
Pin nailer
Mini air palm hammer.

Old 03-28-11, 11:19 AM
F
Yeah, it will probably be okay and the price is right. It definitely won't be for continuous use but just for some hobby work (smaller weekend jobs) it should do the trick. Anything to get away from hand nailing!