Painting New Adirondack Chair and Adding Artwork

Old 05-27-11, 10:10 PM
K
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Painting New Adirondack Chair and Adding Artwork

I'm new to both this site and to wood painting/finishing. Please let me know if this plan is flawed in any way.

I have a new unassembled unfinished fir wood Adirondack chair. I want the chair to look like a Margaritaville chair, minus the hefty price tag

I obviously want the chair to look gorgeous, but I also want it to survive the Florida heat and humidity. I plan on first using Valspar Oil Based Exterior Primer

Next I will paint each piece of wood two different colors of Rust-Oleum oil-based protective enamel (2 coats) Amazon.com: Rust Oleum 7771-402 Rust-Oleum Protective Enamels: Home Improvement
One color (white) has a semi-gloss finish while the other color (blue) has a gloss finish. Should I have stuck to an acrylic final coat instead of this oil-based enamel? If I do use these oil-based enamels, should they both have a gloss finish instead of a semi-gloss finish? I hear the gloss is less likely to stick to clothing.

For the backrest, I plan on cutting a tropical poster (paper) to the exact dimensions of the vertical wooden boards. These will be glued onto the backrest. To waterproof and protect this art design, I want to apply a high gloss finish such as Envirotex Lite Gallon Kit, Envirotex Lite®, Pour On Finish
This is the same clear stuff that you find on bar tables to protect against liquid. I will also apply this to the top of the armrests to protect them from drinks (not sure if this is overkill). Is the pour-on finish my best bet to protect the artwork on the chair from the weather. This stuff is expensive, difficult to apply, and I have to use a blow torch to get rid of the bubbles. Please let me know if there is an easier method out there that is weatherproof.