Novice Question: Refinishing Inlaid Veneer Table

Old 06-01-12, 12:29 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Novice Question: Refinishing Inlaid Veneer Table

I am a complete woodworking/craftsman novice and I have found myself in a predicament and I want to try and fix it myself.

I have an inlaid veneer table that I spilled 100% acetone on in two places. For the first spot the bottle of acetone was left on the table overnight and apparently some leaked and it dissolved the finish and some of the underlying stain. The second spot was a superficial spill that only removed some layers of the finish and not the stain.

Anyway, I would like to try and refinish the table top but I am afraid I may be in over my head. As you can see in the picture the inlay in the center is a different color (it is much lighter) than the outer pieces. I am wondering if these pieces were originally stained with different stains before being inlaid. If I removed the stain and finish would I be able to use one stain for the entire top or would I be forced to use multiple stains to restore it to it's original appearance?

Secondly, the outer edges of the table are darkened (it looks as if it were painted black). I guess my question is: are the edges painted to make that appearance?

I figured if I used a stripping agent I could easily remove the finish and stain and redo everything to restore it to its original glory but I am afraid it will be harder than I think. Is there a way to remove only the finish and leave the stain, or am I stuck removing both layers?

Any advice or suggestions would be much appreciated.

Pictures can be seen here: Table pictures by sparsel1 - Photobucket

Sponsored Links
Old 06-01-12, 01:03 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 132 Votes on 118 Posts
Welcome to the forums!