Refinishing the dining table

Old 10-31-12, 06:25 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Refinishing the dining table

Hi,

Can someone help me provide any information about how to refinish my dining table. I have this table from 3 years and it looks like this now (Picture attached). I am not sure what type of wood it is.

How do I make it look good again? Any help will be appreciated. I am a complete novice who doesn't have any experience working on wood.

Thank you !

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 11-01-12, 05:07 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 132 Votes on 118 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

You'll need to completely strip the top and restain. A chemical stripper works best, followed by sanding. Expect to apply 1 coat of stain and 3 coats of poly [sanding lightly between coats of poly]

Old 11-01-12, 07:36 AM
Group Moderator
Received 53 Votes on 50 Posts
I agree with Mark. You may also need to do some sanding after the stripping, it's hard to tell from the pictures how deep some of that damage goes.

Old 11-02-12, 08:01 PM
Thank you !!

Can you please tell me what brand of chemical stripper, stain and poly will be best. I can either go to Home Depot or Lowes to buy it. What kind of Sand Paper? Do I need anything else. I am assuming a paint brush. Is there any particular kind of brush.

Thanks again !

Old 11-02-12, 08:17 PM
Super Moderator
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts