Repairing old dresser

Old 03-07-14, 07:30 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Repairing old dresser

I am kinda new to repairing and refinishing furniture. I helped my mom do it when I was a teenager but nothing as extensive as this project. I need some help and advice. I have an old dresser given to me. I'd like to repair and probably refinish. It needs A LOT of love. I want to keep the wood look I don't like the look of painted wood. So first off what kind of wood do you think this is? As you can see its missing some veneer in a couple different places. How do I go about fixing them? It's missing a corner and some wood that goes between the drawers. How do I fix that? There a few cracks or splits going across the top? How to fix those?
Here is a pic of dresser:http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...779EF3D03B.jpg

If anyone can answer any of my many questions it would be greatly appreciated. Any and all help needed. I have more pictures of the damage if needed.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-07-14, 07:55 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
It's just cheap pine.
I'd cut my loses and find one in better shape to refinish.
That broken drawer front in the deal breaker.

Old 03-07-14, 09:07 PM
Group Moderator
Received 298 Votes on 271 Posts
I don't think there is any way to identify the wood based on that picture. It's too far away, too dark, and doesn't show any of the details of the wood grain.

Since it is missing veneer, the only thing you can do is put new veneer on. If the edges of the existing veneer are still tight not loose, then you can bondo/fill the missing veneer and apply new veneer over the top of it (after removing old hardware). But if it's loose, you might as well scrape all the old veneer off. A multi-tool would be useful to separate all the old veneer from the drawer face.