I want to try and restore and old kitchen table-set

Old 07-21-14, 03:14 PM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I want to try and restore and old kitchen table-set

Hi everyone,

So I plan on restoring an old kitchen table-set. Here are a few pictures of the table and chairs I am trying to restore.

https://imageshack.com/i/idb94f56j
https://imageshack.com/i/kq5a1707j
https://imageshack.com/i/pd60091ej
https://imageshack.com/i/ida1143cj

Let me first say, I'm completely new to this. If I mess it up, that's how she goes and I'm prepared to take that risk. Don't try and tell me I'm too inexperienced, or that I risk ruining the table. I'm one of those people that even though I'm new at something, I follow directions exactly as told and take a lot of time with my projects. I guarantee you, my determinism will more than make up for my lack of experience. So if your response is "leave it to a professional" don't post.

My plan - Here is what I plan to do, please tell me if anything is wrong or just throw in suggestions for me.

1. Sand down the entire table and chairs. I researched online that the best sander for this job is a pad sander. Can anyone confirm this? I was looking at one on sale. It is made by Skil and has a pressure sensitivity gauge on it.

I plan to really take the most time on the process, being very careful not to ruin the designs or the edge of the table. This is where I am going to go very slow.

2. Apply liquid-glass. I saw this Youtube video on how to make your wooden tables look like "liquid glass" using an epoxy mixture and a blowtorch to pop the bubbles afterwards. I plan on doing something like this, unless you guys think it would be a bad idea for this table-set. I love the look of it. My plan is to give it one coat of this, then wait a week and do another coat. Thoughts?