Accidentally used wood conditioner instead of topcoat


  #1  
Old 08-13-14, 01:06 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Accidentally used wood conditioner instead of topcoat

Hello,

I am refinishing my dining room table and was doing the fourth and final topcoat today. In my sleep deprived state I grabbed the wrong can and used a wood conditioner instead of the topcoat. I didn't notice until about two hours later when it wasn't drying. I wiped off the conditioner but now the table feels a little slick. What should I do? My top coat was General Finishes Arm-R-Seal urethane and the wood conditioner was Varathan Premium Wood Conditioner. Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 08-13-14, 01:13 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 49,255
Received 681 Votes on 602 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Shouldn't be a big deal, just wipe the wipe the table down good with a rag damp with thinner, sand lightly with 220 grit, remove the dust and apply your final coat like you intended.
 
  #3  
Old 08-13-14, 01:17 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Marksr. I will give that a try.
 
  #4  
Old 08-15-14, 01:16 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did what you suggested Marksr and it worked. Thank you so much for your help.
 
  #5  
Old 08-15-14, 01:46 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 49,255
Received 681 Votes on 602 Posts
You're more than welcome, it's always nice to hear that the issue was resolved
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: