Building a worktop desk with laminate top.

Old 02-14-15, 10:02 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Cool Building a worktop desk with laminate top.

Good evening,

I am planning on building a desk for my small home studio. It will be for the placement of the mixing boards, etc. What type of wood would be best to make something good and solid? And want to also add laminate too just like the kind on the kitchen counters. This I will be doing myself and want to get in the right direction. My thought was MDF wood, but not for sure.

Thank you,
MrCarl

Old 02-15-15, 02:48 AM
S
Hey, I'm not a laminate expert at all but most if not all factory laminate kitchen counter tops are over that presswood factory stuff. I don't know enough to comment about diy laminate work but I have a couple alternative ideas.

1: You might find a top at a local store that you can cut to size.

2: I built the desk I'm at now and used left over 1/4" thick 12x12" solid oak parquet flooring. Coated it in 3 coats of poly. Makes one tough nice looking desk top. You would only need to design the desk so that you have a plan that covers the edges.

Old 02-15-15, 03:23 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 874 Upvotes on 765 Posts
Particle board is used under laminate on countertops because it's super flat. Plywood and MDF aren't always flat enough for the laminate to glue down correctly. On my office table I just stained and poly'd plywood with an oak banding hiding the edge. In my shop's tool room I have an old set of kitchen cabinets that have recyled heart pine flooring for the top. Tile might also be an option.

Old 02-15-15, 04:03 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 11 Upvotes on 10 Posts