How to Restore this Old White Garage Cabinet into a Bathroom Linen Cabinet

Old 08-09-15, 06:19 AM
P
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Smile How to Restore this Old White Garage Cabinet into a Bathroom Linen Cabinet

Hello,

I am a complete beginner at any type of do-it-yourself restoration projects.

I am about to pick up this white cabinet, which has been living in someones garage for years. I'd like to clean it, restore it, and make it look good and safe to use as a linen closet/cabinet in my bathroom.

I am able to go to a hardware store to pick up any necessary supplies. I am looking on suggestions on the best way to clean it. I am thinking it may need some bleach in case the black spots on the sides turn out to be some type of mold. I'm just not sure bleach can be used on this particular material, whatever it is?

I'm also looking for directions on how to best paint/stain?/touch up the material. I want to make sure whatever product I use will hold up strongly in a moist bathroom type environment. And finally, I was thinking about putting on different knobs/fixtures and wondering if that would be a more complex task than I imagine. Please let me know.

Please find attached pictures, I have no idea what material this is made out of and this is my starting point for this project. Thank you and I appreciate your time.

Name:  00Q0Q_60zytLilHXB_600x450.jpg
Views: 640
Size:  32.8 KBName:  00505_6uSDjEth0af_600x450.jpg
Views: 544
Size:  29.9 KBName:  00808_2KHiYDQqeUz_600x450.jpg
Views: 379
Size:  21.5 KBName:  00F0F_9fb8tTitKT6_50x50c.jpg
Views: 182
Size:  856 BytesName:  00O0O_fLuIFcZWDyr_600x450.jpg
Views: 425
Size:  29.0 KB

Old 08-09-15, 06:44 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 10 Upvotes on 9 Posts
Welcome to the forums! It appears to be MDF or particle board with laminate pressure coating (PLam). Cleaning is a possibility, but I'll leave the painting advice to our pro, Marksr, who will be along shortly.

Old 08-09-15, 06:51 AM
C