Advice on routing a rabbit/slot at the edge...

Old 02-17-18, 02:43 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Advice on routing a rabbit/slot at the edge...

Hey guys,

I need tips/advice on how to route the outer edges of a table. I have a router and table as well, but I'm a beginner. From what I've researched, such a slot is called a rabbit cut? But most youtube videos I see are for small rabbits. I need mine to be 3/4-inch-deep and 2-1/4 wide all along the table which is about 22 inches long. Do I just use a straight bit? Keep going up and down until I hog it all out?

Below is an image of what I'm trying to do:

-What type of bit should I use? A rabbit bit wouldn't work unless I find a bit that's exactly 3/4 and 2-1/4, right? So then a straight bit then?
-Any tips on set-up?
-Edge of table has some sort of plastic edge band. Do I need to somehow remove this first? Like take an exacto knife, score it and rip out 3/4-inch-deep worth of plastic first? Or just let the router do the work?

Would it be easier if I take the table to the router table? I'd have to dismantle some things, so I'd prefer to bring the router to the workpiece.

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 02-17-18, 03:44 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Here is a tube video that may help. These are dados but just make go to the edge. I would use a 3/4 straight bit.. don't take the full cut in depth and width of bit. About i/2 of bit at a time.Final cut should be should be just a small shave to make every thing even.
If not on a router table the over hang side of router will need to be supported.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SSSwfsOdG4

Old 03-28-18, 05:20 PM