Having trouble ripping plywood

Old 02-26-18, 05:23 PM
H
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Having trouble ripping plywood

im not a pro but not novice either, I own a kobalt portable table saw and its giving me nothing but trouble, ive borrowed a friends before in the past it was a porter cable and i have made 100s of good cuts on it years ago. I now own the kobalt 10 inch 15 amp and its not working the same, i measure from fence to front of blade and back to make sure im square and ive gotten to the point where ive even used a caliper to make for certain... when I try ripping some ply wood we will say for story sake i want to take 1 inch off, everything is square the blade is only 1/16th higher than my wood i start my push keeping it straight against the fence and by about half way through I notice the blade is starting to "bow" or bend? and its pulling my work away from the fence and no matter how hard i try to keep it straight it gets to burning my wood and its all hell... by time ive made it all the way through you can see the cut starts straight and by then end is about 1/8th off and the whole edge is burnt, ive tried pushing slow pushing fast pushing straight pushing sideways.. idk what is going on here, other than user error is there any other idea here?

Old 02-26-18, 05:31 PM
J
Received 102 Votes on 89 Posts
Cheap, wrong, or dull blade would be my guess.

Old 02-27-18, 03:02 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 405 Votes on 361 Posts
I'd also suspect a cheap or dull blade.
Right or wrong, I've always had better results with the blade sticking up higher than that.

Old 02-27-18, 03:16 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
I use one of these for finished plywood. Not cheap but never a chip.
https://pro.woodworker.com/7-laminat...su-116-459.asp
A good finish blade ( 60) to 80 ) teeth should work. Must be sharp.

Old 02-27-18, 04:56 AM
A
Received 72 Votes on 65 Posts