How to convert a cooktop cabinet to a one unit with oven?


  #1  
Old 09-21-21, 09:04 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 904
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
How to convert a cooktop cabinet to a one unit with oven?

Currently my kitchen is built with a cooktop and oven separate. I want to convert the cabinet part that holds the cooktop into a stove with oven in one unit. Essentially I want to cut the counter top that wraps around the cooktop, remove whatever drawers that are underneath the cooktop so I have space for a one unit stove and oven. My concern or question is, I have not done this before. Do I simply turn off the breaker to the cooktop, try to remove it, once it's removed, simply saw the counter top? Any suggestion is much appreciaed.
 
  #2  
Old 09-21-21, 09:26 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 27,983
Received 2,230 Upvotes on 1,989 Posts
Removing the cooktop is easy. Turn off the breaker like you mentioned and remove it. Now everything depends on how your cabinets were made. Can the cabinet face be simply cut away? Is there structure remaining for the cabinets on either side? Is there structure to support the counter? Factory made modular cabinets are easy since each piece can be stand alone but built in place and some custom cabinets could require you to add some support structure before cutting.
 
  #3  
Old 09-21-21, 09:39 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 904
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
Mine is modular so I "think" I can simply remove the cabinet that supports the cooktop but the counter top is in one long piece.
 
  #4  
Old 09-21-21, 10:29 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,459
Received 4,052 Upvotes on 3,635 Posts
You want to put the cook top directly on top of the wall oven ?
 
  #5  
Old 09-22-21, 06:23 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 904
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
PJmax, no. I want to remove my current cook top and put in a full range oven. Below is my current setup. I am thinking of putting the Bosch HEI8056U in its place.

 
  #6  
Old 09-22-21, 09:58 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 27,983
Received 2,230 Upvotes on 1,989 Posts
Before proceeding I would do some measuring just to make sure the stove will fit in the space left by removing the one cabinet (is your base cabinet 30" or 32"?). 30" is a common width for a stove but the one you picked is 32" so double check to make sure it can fit.
 
Charlie2 voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 09-22-21, 11:46 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 904
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
Thanks for pointing that out. I don't why but in Consumer Report's page and Home Depot, it shows 30 inch but on Best Buy's site it shows 31.45 inch wide.
 
  #8  
Old 09-22-21, 03:11 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 904
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
Okay, here's the space I have.

Width: 30"
Height: 36"
Depth: 25-3/8"

It seems almost all the ranges that I've looked at are bigger than these dimensions. Perhaps my cabinets are not standard but when I looked at other cabinets online like Ikea, Home Depot, and Menards etc., my cabinets are pretty much the same dimensions as those in store. So, what's going on? Do I just have to keep looking for a smaller range?
 
  #9  
Old 09-22-21, 03:35 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 27,983
Received 2,230 Upvotes on 1,989 Posts
"It seems almost all the ranges that I've looked at are bigger than these dimensions."
So stop looking at oversized stoves. By far the most common size is 30". A 32" wide stove is an oddity.
 
  #10  
Old 09-22-21, 03:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,459
Received 4,052 Upvotes on 3,635 Posts
You're rarely going to find high end ranges in a 30" width.

Required cutout size: (H x W x D) 35 1/2"–37" x 30" x 25"
Overall appliance dimensions: (H x W x D) 36 1/2"–38" x 31 1/2" x 28 7/8"

The sizes are those posted by Bosch. They don't make any sense.
Bosch HEI8056U installation specs (pdf)
 
Charlie2 voted this post useful.
  #11  
Old 09-23-21, 04:52 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 27,983
Received 2,230 Upvotes on 1,989 Posts
Oh, it's a slide in, not a freestanding stove. The body of the stove is 30" but there is a lip/flange around the front and often the top that is wider than the body. That flange goes over the face of the cabinetry and over the counter.
 
  #12  
Old 09-23-21, 05:55 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,200
Received 1,948 Upvotes on 1,748 Posts
You are going to need a new countertop, unless you like the look of the raw, cut ends of your countertop and backsplash.
 
  #13  
Old 09-23-21, 09:36 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 904
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
Yeah, many thanks for the responses. It seems that if I want everything to be flushed, I will need to customized my base cabinets. I've looked at some photos on line and some range do stand a bit taller than the counter and not flushed at the front either.
 
  #14  
Old 09-23-21, 11:22 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 27,983
Received 2,230 Upvotes on 1,989 Posts
My slide in had a lip the overhung the counter and the front face of the cabinets. It was just as difficult to keep the stove to counter interface clean as a traditional slide in. When I remodeled the kitchen 6 years ago I went with a standard format stove. This allowed me to set the stove top to be flush with the counter instead of sitting on top like the slide in. You might want to look at other brands or series. For example GE has Profile, Cafe & Monogram which are more premium than their regular GE models.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: