100 amp service. Wire gauge.


  #1  
Old 05-27-04, 07:26 PM
hoffman's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Warner Robins GA
Posts: 97
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
100 amp service. Wire gauge.

The shop is coming along and I'm ready for the electrical. I got a 320 amp meter base with 2 load lugs from the power company today. I'm going to run one side to my house (200 a) and the other to a 100 amp disconnect for the shop. I have to run the cable about 40 feet and was wondering what gauge wire I'll need. I'll check with the inspector but I'd like to check out some prices online if I get a reply tonight.
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 06-11-04, 02:21 PM
RUDY PEREZ
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
There is a chart that you can find at your lowes or homedepot in the electrical isle from GE that lists the service wire required for the current you are going to drive
 
  #3  
Old 07-15-04, 01:31 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Pose your question on the electrical forum to get some expert advice
 
  #4  
Old 08-08-04, 09:01 PM
SSR
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
If you are only going 40 feet than a 2 gauge might be OK or you might need to step up to a 1/0. I'm sure that you will have to use either of these 2 sizes.

I recently ran 60 amp service to a detached garage and I had to use 4 gauge because of the 150 ft. run.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: