Garage door button needs to be pressed continuously to operate

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-17-04, 05:08 PM
sushrut
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Garage door button needs to be pressed continuously to operate

One of my garage door units is not working properly. The garage door 'button' when pressed once opens the garage door smoothly. However, when I press the garage door button the second time to close the door, the door does not close. I have the keep the button pressed continuously for the door to close. However, when I release the button as soon as the door is closed, the door starts opening again. I then have to press and release the button a few times till the door is at a position close to the ground and stops moving.

Any idea how I can fix this?

Thanks,
Sushrut
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-17-04, 05:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,150
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Take it off and short the contacts, if it doesn't operate from a momentary short, but displays the same requirement, (continiously shorted), the pick-up sensor in your operator needs to be replaced.
 
  #3  
Old 09-20-04, 06:10 AM
sushrut
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
How do I replace the pickup sensor? Is it easy to do? I have a CRAFTSMAN 1/2 HP.

Thanks
Sushrut
 
  #4  
Old 09-20-04, 07:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,150
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It will most likely be part of the circuit board. You may have to call sears.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: