Plan on building a garage with bonus room on top

Old 02-15-06, 09:54 PM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Plan on building a garage with bonus room on top

Hi,

I'm moving into my new older home on March 10th in Tampa, FL. I have plans to build a 2 car garage with a bonus room on top that will be a dedicated home theater. there is currently a 2 car carport which is where I believe the building will be going.

I've had lofty ideas that 20-25k was going to cover it, but as I read more and more everyday, it seems like this may not cover the cost of building. I want to try and do as much work as possible on my own and sub contract out the areas that I simply will not be able to do. I have very little building experience (I've torn down and replaced an existing wall)...

I'm looking for reading materials and resources on planning, budgeting, sub contracting, building, etc.... Again, I want to do as much work myself, but I have little to no experience.

Any advice on where to start with this serious undertaking? Any books that use current practices for me to reference?

Last edited by rkruege1; 02-18-06 at 07:39 AM.
Old 02-16-06, 03:47 AM
Rkruge1

What size of garage are you planning on building ? Give me the following information and I will be glad to help you. Size of garage, number of garage doors, number of passage doors, number of windows both up and down, and type of siding. With that I will be glad to help you.

Old 02-18-06, 07:33 AM
R
Thanks for your reply and interest Jack!

I have not moved into the home yet, so actual dimensions and the room I have to work with is not quite firm. There shouldn't be a problem with space as far as I could see, there's already a 2 car carport in place on a half circle driveway. Until then , I'll fill in the other details...