garage door: remote not working

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-13-07, 12:15 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
garage door: remote not working

Both of my garage door opener remotes stopped working (don't know if at the same time or not) a few weeks ago (I should have done this earlier, but I was lazy). I can still open the garage door with the switch and it works fine. So, I guess the problem either lies in the antennae or the remotes. What to do next? (I am very new to fixing things and may need detailed advice).

I appreciate your help.

Ashish
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-13-07, 12:25 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 929
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You find the documentation for the remotes and the unit. Usually there is a button on the unit that must be held while you depress a button on the remote to 'program' the remote to the unit. If that is your problem it will fix it.
 
  #3  
Old 09-13-07, 01:13 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will go home today and see if i can find any documentation. I will keep you posted.

Thanks for your help.
 
  #4  
Old 09-13-07, 01:40 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,744
Received 76 Votes on 60 Posts
even if you can't find the documentation that came with your GDO, just get the make/model and go to the manufacturer's wegb site. Most will have the manual there.

For your remotes - first thing replace the batteries if you haven't already done so. If that didn't fix it, reprogram the remotes as mdtaylor suggested. If that doesn't work,. you may have a receiver problem with the GDO.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: