Building a two car garage from the ground up

Old 11-02-08, 10:32 AM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Building a two car garage from the ground up

Hello everyone,

I'm a novice builder who would like to build a two car garage next summer. Although I've done wood framming and roofing in the past, I have no experience pouring concrete. My first question is, bluntly, given the time needed to learn from whatever printed or internet ressources I could get my hands on, would pouring a concrete slab be within the grasp of a novice such as myself? Secondly, what ressources (i.e. books, websites) for this type of project could you recommend? Thanks!

Old 11-02-08, 06:41 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
First of all, it's not just a slab. It's a slab with ribbon footings, which you could frame and have a ready mix truck do the pour. Then you could float it with some help.

Read "Your Old Garage" towards the bottom of the site.

Additions, Decks, Porches and Outbuildings - StarCraft Custom Builders

Old 11-02-08, 07:12 PM
J
Make a rough sketch--showing approx size of bldg.----show property lines--any fences--
trees--overhead wires--sidewalks--house--rough dim. everything.
Go to your city ( whatever ) inspector--he will tell you what you can do & have to do.
Go to Home Depot--they will lay-out your structure for you w/ cost.
Make final drawing w/ dim.--take to permit dept. for permits. Get Conc. Contr price for
conc. for footings.
HD will deliver all material to your home..............
You will need some help--especially holding up walls for assembly to other walls.---roof trusses.
Have a ball.................................

Old 11-03-08, 03:58 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Welcome to the forums Andy!