garage door motor hums, does not open or close

Old 01-26-09, 12:15 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
garage door motor hums, does not open or close

Hi,

I have a lift-master 1/3hp 1200 series garage opener about 8yrs old. While open the garage recently, the door got tangled to a heavy plastic bag kept the top of a cabinet next to garage door railing. Then the garage door does not close. When I on the wall switch, the motor hums and clicks once.

(1) I am able to manually close and open the garage door.
(2) I do not see any uneven gap when it closed.
(3) Pulleys and chan on both sides are still connected.
(4) The overhead tension spring doesn't show any broken link.
(5) It is a chain-operated sectional, the chain also looks ok.
(6) The sensor light is continuously on(not blinking).

Based on what I read in this forum, I am suspecting gears inside could be broken? Or even through I don't see any link break up in the spring, could it still be a spring problem? Any help or clues are appreciated to root cause the problem?

thanks,
Pshawn

Sponsored Links
Old 01-26-09, 12:49 PM
Super Moderator
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Possibly the gears yes. You can open the case and look inside, you'll know immediately if you see plastic shavings inside. The symptoms aren't quite right for most of the gear problems I've seen or heard.

Does it do the same thing with the trolley unhooked from the chain?

You might also try unplugging the opener for an hour or so. See if it acts any differently.

A broken spring will normally keep the door from being opened due to the weight.

Old 01-26-09, 12:59 PM
Hi Gunguy,

thanks for the reply. I will open the casing this evening and check for broken plastic shavings.

>Does it do the same thing with the trolley unhooked from the chain?

You mean if the garage door manually opens or closes with chain unhooked? I have not tried it.

>You might also try unplugging the opener for an hour or so. See if it acts any differently.