Sears garage door remote not working

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-16-09, 05:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 46
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sears garage door remote not working

Hi all,

I have a garage door opener and today one of my remotes ( I have 2) stopped working. I thought it was the battery so I replaced it and it still does not work. Is there a way to re-program the one while not disturbing the one that works?

I push the button on the remote and the door opener has an amber light that flashes repeatedly if I hold the large button on my remote.

The model on my remote says 139.18791B and it is made in Canada ( 11/97)

Thanks for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-17-09, 04:29 AM
Doorman2722's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 871
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
It probably for some reason has lost it's programing, just re program it. Push the button on back of opener next to the "amber light that flashes repeatedly" you were talking about and then press button on remote
 
  #3  
Old 06-17-09, 06:01 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,838
Received 37 Votes on 29 Posts
The last Craftsman opener we had worked pretty well for several years and then slowly lost programming ability. Started out with three devices, then two, then one. Remotes were good, but central brain lost capability to remember the additional ones. You may have the same issue so don't be surprised if you still have problems after a re-program.
 
  #4  
Old 06-20-09, 08:05 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your transmitter

You do not say what model operator or receiver you have. Typically receivers do not loose the ability to program over time as stated in the other response. More than likely your transmitter is damaged. If your operator has an led light next to the program button it should illuminate when your transmitter button is pressed. Try it with your good transmitter and see if you can see where the LED is located and verify that it illuminates when your good transmitter is pressed. Then try with you bad one.

To find out what model you have go here:
Programming Door Opener Instructions, Programming Remote Controlled Door Opener

There you will be able to print the instructions for your particular operator.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: